NEWS RELEASE: Roseville High School Announces 2024 Class for Athletic Hall of Fame - May 20, 2024
May 20, 2024

NEWS RELEASE: Roseville High School Announces 2024 Class for Athletic Hall of Fame

Ed Mizinski
Ed Mizinski

Roseville High School will be inducting five new members into their Athletic Hall of Fame at a ceremony on May 30, 2024. This year’s inductees are Ed Mizinski, Bob Wilson, Doug Dawson, Erica Martin, and Angela Martin.

Roseville High School Athletic Director Keith Marzec said that this is the fourth class of inductees, the first since 2020. “We are excited to have the event return and be able to celebrate such a great class of athletes.” The induction ceremony will take place on May 30 at 6:30 p.m. in the RHS auditorium. This event is open to the public free of charge. There will be a small reception for the inductees in the culinary arts wing prior to the induction ceremony. “We have made changes to the event that will allow more people to attend the ceremony. In the past there was limited space available when we held it in our cafeteria. Now we will be able to have more people in the auditorium to celebrate with the class of 2024.”

The inaugural RHS Hall of Fame class featured Ernie Whitt, Brian Sikorski, Davon Gray, Joe Pantaleo, Vanessa Blair, Rich Maloney, Harry Sullins, and Stan Mizinski. The following years saw standout athletes Cliff Howe, Anthony Stadwick, Marie Palinkas, Robert Zimmerman, Micaela Mayer and Ken Fiott added to the list. Also included in the initial three classes were coaches Maxwell Berry and Bob DeStefano and two teams: The 1997 RHS wrestling team and the 1949 Eastland High School basketball team. A selection committee consisting of former Roseville Athletic Directors from the current Roseville High School, Brablec High School, and the original RHS, vote each year for the class of honorees. To be inducted, former athletes must have graduated from Roseville Community Schools, been out of school for ten years, have played collegiate sports and/or earned honors at the league or state level.

2024 Hall of Fame bios included below.

  • Ed Mizinski graduated from the original Roseville High School in 1971 where he was a standout athlete in multiple sports. He starred on the football field, earning All-Eastern Michigan League, All-Macomb County, Detroit Free Press All-Suburban, and All-State Honorable Mention honors. As a member of the track team, he was a state finalist in the 440-yard dash. Mizinski earned a scholarship to Eastern Michigan University where he would continue his football career.
  • Bob Wilson is a 1995 graduate who excelled in several sports at Roseville High School. On the wrestling mat, he was a two-time state champion in the 140/151lb weight classes. He was a four-time state qualifier, compiling a 163-28-1 record, and was named to the All-State team three times. He played three years of varsity baseball, as well as two years of varsity football, earning offensive MVP during his senior season. He has also spent several years coaching for RHS.
  • Doug Dawson graduated from Roseville High School in 2007. While at RHS, he excelled in soccer and track. In soccer, he was named first-team All-Conference his junior and senior years. On the track, he holds the school record in the 400m and 1600m relay and was named to the All-State team in the 400m his senior year. He continued his soccer and track careers at Sienna Heights after high school where he was a NAIA National Champion in the 400m.
  • 2010 Roseville High School graduate Erica Martin was a three-sport star, lettering in basketball, volleyball, and softball. During her career, she earned twelve varsity letters and an all-academic letter. She was named Roseville High School’s 2010 Girls’ Basketball MVP and the 2010 RHS Outstanding Female Athlete. She won a MAC league championship in all three sports.
  • Angela Martin graduated from RHS in 2011 and was also a three-sport star who lettered in basketball, volleyball, and softball. She earned All-Conference honors in all three sports, as well as All-Conference defensive honors in 2008. She was a four-time MVP in softball, earning a scholarship to play at Concordia.